At the Movies with Paige – Ingrid Goes West

Hello Pulp Pack. I thought I’d share some of the films/shows I’ve enjoyed. Let me know if you’ve seen any or can recommend some.

SPOILERS BELOW….

Just Watched – Ingrid Goes West, 2017

Directed by Matt Spicer

Written by David Branson Smith & Matt Spicer

Starring Aubrey Plaza, Elizabeth Olsen, O’Shea Jackson Jr.

Ok, this film was a trip. I loved the mesh of social media and how they portrayed it in the movie. This overlay felt like a perfect representation of our current lives. The doom-scroll in the morning as we aimlessly start our days. The likes, the impressions, the infulene of these tiny sqaures on our daily lives.

It was beautifully filmed, and every shot and some great fashion, home goods or food – very social media.

Aubrey! The perfect mix of keeping me on bated breath worried about how far she could go while also feeling empathy for her journey. Her past, and what we can only imagine – a painful challege of caring for a sick parent with no help – resonated. To see her struggle, how badly she wanted a different life and how far she was willing to go.

It is a picture of a very sick person and how dangerour a life focused on social media can be to an unbalanced mind.

There were so many cringe moments. My jaw hurt. Aubrey did such a great job expressing her pain, her emotions, her life on her face.

O’Shea – oh man – I LOVED his character. I loved how he loved Batman. He was a ray of light in this film, our hero, our underdog all at the same time. He saw her, maybe saw her potential. He was all in – who get’s in the van on their way to the desert! That’s dedication to a total stranger.

Elizabeth – my favorite Olsen, is amazing in this role. She emcompased the steroetype of the self-centered influenzer. The sickness behind that. The perfect the photo, the legnths to get the photo, the people you crawl over to further one’s goals. No shade at persureing your dreams – but her character Taylor was so hollow and self-centered.

If you’ve got the time, I give this film a go.

SOURCE

Happy Tales! xox Pulp Paige

My name is Paige Turner and I write Pulp

LINK TO ALL PULP BY PAIGE TURNER | LINK TO PREMIUM CONTENT SUBSCRIPTION – PULP AFTER DARK | BEHIND THE SCENES

Follow Paige Turner @ | PULP BY PAIGE TURNER IG | PULP BY PAIGE IG  | PULP AFTER DARK SUBSCRIPTIONPULP SPOTIFY | PULP YOUTUBE | STORYTIME | PINTEREST | TUMBLER  | FACEBOOK | FAN PAGE | EMAIL | SUBSCRIPTION TECH SUPPORT

Copyright 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022

Published by Paige Turner

I'm a fast talking, no bologna taking kind of gal. In the world between the pages, nothing can stop me.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.