At the Movies with Paige – Amsterdam

Hello Pulp Pack. I thought I’d share the media I’m watching of late – let me know if you’ve seen any or can recommend some. Find me on IG – PULP BY PAIGE TURNER

Up Next: Amsterdam, 2022

Directed by David O. Russell

Written by David O. Russell

Starring Christian Bale, Margot Robbie, John David Washington

SPOILERS BELOW….

WOW! What a film. So beautifully depicted. What a cast. Amazing costumes and sets. Amsterdam has a noir feel – it’s a pulpy detective caper replaced with a doctor and his best friend – an attorney.

Amsterdam takes place after “The Great War,” now known as WWI and before WWII – a time often overlooked in cinema. You don’t have to be a history buff to enjoy this film. Though according to critics – it was too much story. That made me chuckle – it’s based on history, with fictional furious, and guess what? Sometimes real life is too much.

A lot of this really did happen, and I do not want to give the true story away. It is a timely film, a gentle reminder that history can repeat itself if we do not learn from our past mistakes. It really struck a chord with me.

A lot of this really did happen, and I do not want to give the true story away. It is a timely film, a gentle reminder that history can repeat itself if we do not learn from our past mistakes. It really struck a chord with me.

A beautiful tribute to friendship, love, forbidden love, duty, honor, loyalty, and doing the right thing. This film deserves far more praise than it did. War. The horrors of war. Love during a time of war. The bond of soldiers. The bond of friends. Beauty in an ugly time.
I truly think this film deserves another look – it is a big story. When you read up on the history it is based on – it’s mind-blowing. It is BIG. That’s why it is also scary. Because sometimes life is scary – but truly life is beautiful.

That’s all I can say without giving away too much. The surprises, twists, turns, laughs, and shock is well worth watching on repeat – so maybe the big horrors of our history don’t need to be repeated.

As a side note – have you seen JoJo Rabbit?

SOURCE

Happy Tales! xox Pulp Paige

My name is Paige Turner and I write Pulp

LINK TO ALL PULP BY PAIGE TURNER | LINK TO PREMIUM CONTENT SUBSCRIPTION – PULP AFTER DARK | BEHIND THE SCENES/BETWEEN THE PAGES

Follow Paige Turner @ | PULP BY PAIGE TURNER IG | PULP BY PAIGE IG  | PULP AFTER DARK SUBSCRIPTIONPULP SPOTIFY | PULP YOUTUBE | STORYTIME | PINTEREST | TUMBLER  | FACEBOOK | FAN PAGE | EMAIL | SUBSCRIPTION TECH SUPPORT

Copyright 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023

Copyright 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023

Published by Paige Turner

I'm a fast talking, no bologna taking kind of gal. In the world between the pages, nothing can stop me.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.