DAMED IF YOU DO, DEAD IF YOU DON’T – Redux

Sometimes, you just want a rewrite. As I pen my next series, RED LANTERN DISTRICT, and weave new characters into my epic Pulp Empire I realize I can do better with Dr. Webb. If you haven’t read TO LIVE OR DIE IN SF or DAMED IF YOU DO, DEAD IF YOU DON’T – then give this version a spin. It’s a whole lot smoother. Thank you for reading! To read my behind the scene on this tale – follow Between the Pages.

DAMED IF YOU DO, DEAD IF YOU DON’T

CHAPTER 1 – TO LIVE OR DIE IN SF

I was running down an alley, my feet hitting the pavement with a thud; the lights of the City bouncing off the gutters made me dizzy. I couldn’t catch my breath, the air thick with fog, something was slowing me down but I didn’t know what. All I could hear was the traffic up ahead, a maze of lasers piercing my eyes as cars whizzed by. The lights were tripping me out, Everything sparkled, I wondered if I was dosed but I knew I didn’t have time to find out. 

Leaning on the building, no lights above this doorway, I felt a sting in my chest, pressing my hand under my coat, I felt the warm, sticky, mess that could only be my blood. Pulling out my hand, it looked like crude oil, black as my soul.

“Shit.”

I eased off the building and plunged forward, but I didn’t want to walk on the thoroughfare – all those lights were driving me mad. In the distance, I could hear the Pat-Pat-Pat of someone coming up behind me. I didn’t know who it was and I knew I didn’t want to find out. I pressed on. Up ahead a few dumpsters clogged the alley, if I could make it there, I could make it anywhere. 

The foghorn blasted over the Bay as the bells from Mission Dolores confirmed the time. 2 AM. Nothing good happens after 2 AM. Suddenly very sleepy; I just needed to rest, a few minutes off my feet; as the edges of my sight slowly dimmed.

I made it to the dumpsters and tucked between them, crashing to the floor, a sorry excuse for a stupor. The Pat-Pat-Pat grew louder; pressing my pockets looking for a weapon, finding nothing. My eyelids grew heavy, I was having a hard time staying awake, finally catching my breath. I just wanted to lie down.

Pat-Pat-Pat. I must have passed out, when I opened my eyes I was on the ground staring at a pair of red high heels, legs for days. Thought I’d died and gone to heaven. 

“Harry! Oh my God.” She ran over to me, pulling me up off the ground.

“Do I know you?” I was trying to get a good look at her in the shadows. She smelled like roses and cigarettes. 

“Oh Harry, now’s not the time to joke around. Can you get up? Can you walk?” She was pulling on my arm. 

All I could see were her strawberry-red lips. “Don’t be ridiculous.” I yanked my arm from her grasp. “Of course I can walk.” Pressing myself onto the wall to find my footing.

“We gotta get outta here Harry, they’ll circle back here any moment now.” She was chewing on her finger and looking up and down the alley. 

“Why are you calling me Harry? My name’s not Harry.” I was confused as ever.

She rolled her eyes and ushered me to hurry. “Come on whatever your name is.” Her blonde hair fell out of its updo. 

I got to my feet, ready to run when suddenly I felt the pavement hit my face, my eyes wandering up those legs, finding a tear in her stockings, I relished how that sweater stretched tight over her thighs. “How on earth could I forget an ass like that?” I uttered as my eyes closed. 

Apparently, those were my last words.

CHAPTER 2 – NO TELLING WHAT’S NEXT 

I woke up, god only knows how many hours later, staring at the cheap acoustic tile of what could only be a no-tell motel. The nicotine-stained curtains confirmed my suspicions. My neck was killing me, but not as much as my chest. Reaching over to feel my wound, my arm stopped short, rope cutting into my wrist. By the looks of it, I was tied to the bed. Kinky. 

“What the fuck?” I shouted. 

Sweater Dress came out of the bathroom, her blonde hair a mess, her cell phone pressed to her face, one finger in the other ear. She was pacing, not really paying attention to me or my attempts to break free. Upon closer inspection, I noted she tied some fine knots so I stopped my fussing.

“What the fuck is going on?” I shouted. Hoping the person on the other line would also like to know. Instead, she walked back into the bathroom, kicking the door closed.

I stretched my legs as I tried to piece the last few hours together. Working backward from the alley, but the alley was as far back as I could recall. Looking down it was clear something happened, hell if I know. 

But she was up to something, I spotted my blood-soaked shirt wadded up on the floor, fresh towels wrapped around me, held down by my belt; interesting. 

Then suddenly she burst out of the bathroom holding a needle, balancing the phone between her shoulder and ear.

“Oh hell no.” I pulled at my binds harder. I wouldn’t say I’m scared of needles, I just didn’t see the need for them. 

“Ah-ha, okay, got it.” She was nodding her head in confirmation, then snapped the phone shut, tossing it on the bed. Looking straight at me, “This is going to hurt a little. But far less than if that bullet stays in there.” Without saying another word she straddled me.

“I like where this is going.” I grinned, bouncing my hips, till the pain shot up through my chest. Then there was the business of the needle. “On second thought.” I stopped grinding. 

She started squirming on my lap, tapping the air out of the chamber and getting a good grip. Made things a little difficult for me; but who was I to complain as she revved up the courage to plunge that needle into my…

Everything went black from there, till the bells of the Mission rang at 4 AM. I opened my eyes to black lace, the smell of blood, gunpowder, and roses all around me. Eve was pulling at my stays, untying my arm, stripped down to her skivvies, covered in, from what I could tell, copious amounts of my blood.

“Welcome back stud, you feeling all right?” Taking a swig off the bottle, wiping her lip with her arm. Man did she fill that lace out just right. Tossing the slug onto my stomach. “Fished this out of you.” She grinned, finding my way to her gentle smile and soft blue eyes, her blond hair tickling my chin. I was getting dizzy just looking at her. “Now now, settle down sparky, and pack your pistol, you don’t have enough blood in your body to operate both machines.” With a giggle, she looked at herself. “Damn.” Wiping her chest down with a wet rag. “Feeling any pain?”

“Not sure?” My eyes took in all I could of this lace-wrapped, half-naked vixen before me. “Not sure how I got here either.” But I wasn’t complaining. She simply laughed, while washing my blood off her long, long legs. I bit my lip. “No seriously, I don’t remember anything.”

“Ugh!” The rag wasn’t helping. Quickly taking off what was left, and there wasn’t much, but what she did have on, well I relished every second as she unsnapped her bra, and slid out of her black panties. God was she gorgeous. I didn’t know who she was, for all I know she shot me, but right now I thanked the stars they created her. Snapping from my trance, she hollered over her shoulder, “I’ll be right back, I’m gonna shower.”

I heard the water start and the fan rattling in the ceiling. I untied my other arm, my legs and found that bottle of vodka and a glass. Took a shot, grit my teeth. A lipstick-stained cigarette smoldered in the ashtray, I picked it up and lit a match; slowly finding my sea legs. 

The water shut off, from the bathroom she hollered, “You must be starving, there’s beer, cold cuts, and bread-n-butter in the fridge.”

I looked around, it didn’t look like she lived here. Her dress, coat, purse, and three bags from the bodega sat on the dresser by the door. I opened the fridge, made two sandwiches, and popped open two beers. My chest singed, stitches poking out the fresh bandage. “You did a nice job on my stitches, all things considered.”

“Thanks.” Walking out of the bathroom with nothing but a towel wrapped around her hair, dripping wet. “Guess med-school really did pay off.” The room suddenly spun, I took a seat. “The .22 didn’t go through, just rattled around your shoulder, from what I can tell, you’ll be ok.” Drying off she slid on her tight black sweater dress, hung up her lace, and pulled up a chair. “This for me?”

I nodded, tucking my hard-on into my waistband, thinking of kittens and trying the fuck not to pass out… again. “Med school huh? Of all the dolls… lucky me.” 

She smiled, took a swig, and swallowed the bologna. Kept my stare as she took another drink; without missing a beat, “Do you remember anything?” She leaned over. I nodded no. “Shame really, one of the suavest pick-ups – ever.” This time she grinned. “You were this brooding raven at the corner of the bar. Your hair all tousled, you looked mysterious and most devious. I wanted a closer look.” Her grin turned sinister, as she edged onto her seat. “But I didn’t have to make a move. Long story short – you walked over to me, leaned into my ear, and said – ‘Woman, you’ll be the death of me’.” Biting her lip as the tension grew between us. 

A flash of recollection dashed over my eyes. Remembering how she eased one thigh across the bar stool, that one innocuous move pulled out every devious suggestion my mind could muster. In that simple gesture, she owned me. Owned me hard. 

That I do remember, “Your name is Eve?” She reeked of original sin.

Eve smirked, tipping back the bottle as those same ideas came rushing through my foggy, little, reptile brain all over again. 

She stood up to grab a bag. I knew she didn’t have a stitch on under that dress, its tall neck hiding her flesh, her stockings hanging to dry, her bare leg easing over the seat.

“Oh, I remember now.” I grabbed her chair and pulled her in with my good arm. “It’s all coming back to me now.” Running my nose against her soft jaw, taking in her sweet, rose scent. “Now where were we?”

She uttered the most delicious moan and I lost all sensibility. My rough lips found hers. Her teeth pulled at mine. Her nails racked over my skull as she drew me near. What’s a man supposed to do with a woman like that? Sucking in a breath as my fingers ran up the length of her thigh. Her smooth skin – a runway to heaven on earth. Draping one leg over mine, she welcomed me with a gasp. I knew I couldn’t fuck her, not properly, not if I wanted to live through the night, so I did the next best thing. Our lips fused, our tongues twisting, gasping, legs spread wide; that sweater dress stretched over her gorgeous ass. Biting her neck, tasting her sweat.

Till the motel phone rang. 

CHAPTER 3 – UNWANTED GUEST

Bouncing off its base. Scared us both back to reality. Looking at one another then back at the phone. Three more rings till it fell silent.

Easing back into my chair I finished my beer as she lit a smoke, brushing her bangs back, grinning ear to ear, and handing me her cigarette. I was horny as fuck and confused – not the best combination in my opinion, but I was going with the flow. 

“Do you remember last night?” Her foot was rubbing up and down my leg, I was having a hard time concentrating. “We were sitting at the bar…” Running her foot up my thigh. “That brute walked over trying to shoot his shot.”

“Oh yeah!” I did recall this meathead interrupting us. Eve tactfully blew him off – but he wasn’t taking no for an answer. I rubbed my jaw. “Did he take a punch at me?” 

Her black lacquered nails rolled over my stubble-lined jaw. “Sucker punch. But you got one in before they tossed us out.”

“Then what?” As I notioned to my gunshot wound. Before she could answer, the motel phone rang again. “You gonna answer that?” No, she nodded, ignoring its piercing tone. “What happened next?” I asked, suddenly feeling pressed for time. 

Meeting my stare, giving me a slow blink she uttered, “I don’t know.” Leaning over to grab the vodka and glasses. “I went to coat check and when I came outside, both of you were gone.” Pouring a shot. “So I followed the blood.”

In silence, I watched as she pulled out some pill bottles. “Here, take these twice a day to prevent infection.” 

I swallowed my meds when there was a knock at the door. “Are you expecting anyone?” Between the phone ringing and the door knock, I was getting antsy. 

She shook her head as she pulled a pistol out from the stack of coats by the door and peered through the window.

“Miss, it’s me, Billie, from the front desk.” Keeping the latch on Eve opened the door with her free hand. “I’m so sorry to bother you. I noticed an awful brute going door to door, I called the cops but it’s not like they’ll be here anytime soon. I felt the urge to let you know.” Fidgeting with her hair. 

“Thank you, Billie.” Pressing the door closed, Eve grabbed the bags on the dresser and made her way back to me. “Here, take this and head out the back, I’ll pick you up on the street in a yellow taxi, just keep walking and stay in the dark.” As she pushed me out the back window.

I threw on my coat, grabbed my grocery bags walked the length of the motel, I had to set my eyes on him. The third room over had its windows open, so I managed to catch the creep knock on the door. The fella inside opened in a huff. Standing in the doorway was that beast of a man, donned all in black, bald head, his coat one size too small, he just about filled the damn doorway. The brute peaked in, gave the fella a once over, then moved on to the next door. There was no way I was leaving Eve to his devices, I made my way back through the window.

That’s when I found her standing there. “What are you doing? Do you want him to find you?” Shooing me away.

I followed her instructions and climbed over the back fence onto the street. I didn’t get far when I heard it, the sound of crashing, hitting, smashing, breaking. I ran back to see if she was ok, heard another smash then the lights went out. Not a peep from the dame, I feared the worst, so I did what any man would do – I crawled back in.

The room was dark, but for the slats of light cutting through the blinds. The place was quiet, too quiet. I made my way forward when the floorboards gave me away. I didn’t have a chance in hell when this mountain of bricks tackled me in the dark. 

WAM!

I hit the ground, the breath pushed out of me, the stitches in my chest pulling. The pain, oh the pain – it was like nothing I ever felt but I didn’t have time for that. My eyes rolled back in my head, fighting to stay conscious. Not today Hades, not today. 

I could see the brute pulling his arm back ready to cold cock me. Like hell was I going to go out like this. I still had legs, thrashing around desperate to knock him off. But there was no luck, no way I could get out from under him. 

BAM!

He clipped my jaw. 

BOING!

Felt that one. I’ll admit, this wasn’t my finest hour. I could barely move my left arm, pinned under this son-of-a-bitch, so I did what I had to do. As his arm cocked back to knock me into next week, I landed my fist right up his nose, blood gushing over me. Man did that boy roll over fast. I knew his eyes would water, the pain pushing through his skull would be hard to ignore. You can learn a lot in prison, but that move I learned from my brother.

“Eve? Eve?” No response, I didn’t waste any time and crawled back through the window, no way Brutus could follow me this route. I hopped the fence and kept on walking, my steps growing labored. I was thirsty. Rummaging through the bag I found a beer, leaning on the trunk I pounded that cold one down when headlights bolted around the corner. I hid behind the tree, my first instinct being my best one, as a jet-black Merc’ sped by.

I stayed put, didn’t want to venture too far. My arm began to throb, so I dug around and sure enough found some painkillers; crunching them down like candy. Finally, a set of headlights sensibly turned the corner, making its way up the street slow and steady. Flashed their brights three times. I pulled my hat off and stuck it out from the tree, the taxi stopped, and Eve opened the door, “Harry, is that you?”

“Why do you keep calling me that?” I stooped into the taxi.

“That’s your name isn’t it?” Eve was fixing her red lipstick, the soft glow of her compact illuminating her perfect lips. I fumbled in my pockets looking for my wallet and came up empty-handed. “How’re your stitches holding up?”

I looked down at the pulpy mess. “Not so good.”

“I figured.” She uttered while patching me up again. “Here, put this on.” She handed me a fresh shirt. I huffed out of my bloody rags. “Oh, before you put your coat on.” Handing over a shoulder holster, a Glock 43 already nestled inside.

“What’s this?” I asked, pulling it on, fitting like a glove.

“It’s yours.” Her hand guided mine to the small hole at the top of the leather.

“Holy shit.” At this point, I decided to stop asking questions.

Thankfully the driver did not. “Eve. I’m going to assume you don’t want company?” Didn’t wait for an answer. “We have a tail. There’s a jet-black Merc three cars back. They’ve followed our every turn.”

Eve flipped her compact back open, hoping to see their guest but the headlights were blinding. “Lose them Orpheus.” 

CHAPTER 4 – THE CHASE 

Our driver turned onto the freeway and hit the gas. We were making good time, that is till we approached the merge. Shit, the traffic on 280 was slowing us down. Peaking in the side mirror. “Nope, still there.” Taking a quick right turn at the interchange, now on our way to Lake Merced. “This has got to work.” As he pulled around the lake and headed towards the zoo. “I can shake ‘em up ahead.”

Blasting his horn he ran a couple of red lights, tearing up the Great Highway. Looking in his rear-view, shaking his head Orpheus hit the gas and blew through two more lights. The morning traffic just starting to percolate. Suddenly stopping at the top of the curve, joggers crowding the street, “I never met a tail I couldn’t shake. This guy’s driving like a bat out of hell. I’m gonna pull out up ahead, you two get outta here, I’ll make sure he follows me while you two take off.” No time to argue, turning the corner, the driver pulled over and let us out by the cliff. 

“Daylight’s coming, we gotta hide.” Eve was running down the path towards the beach. “There’s a cave up ahead, we can hide in there for a while.” I’d follow her just about anywhere.

The stairs were steep, headlights cutting across the hillside above us. No way the Brute in his Merc’ would even think to come down here. 

The fog was thick, I could barely make out the babe ahead of me till she stopped at the entrance of the cave. 

Inside it smelled of rotting wood, musty. Out of breath, my heart pounding, practically pulling stitches, I watched as my siren ran ahead, dawn slowly breaking, her silhouette outlined before me. I could hear the ocean crash undertow, I could feel the spray hitting my face, taste the salt on my lips.

I must have fallen because I couldn’t see a thing, only heard her fussing. “Harry, get up, get up. Harry. Look at me.” I could tell she was standing before me, felt her breath on my face, her hair tickle my nose. Then she slapped me. “Harry, Harry, wake up.” So I did. I found my footing and followed her to the other side, the shore gently lapping at the sand. “Sit down.”

I fell to the ground, resting my back against the sandstone. “Baby, you should go – get outta here, this isn’t your problem.” At least I didn’t think it was. I begged her to leave – I knew how this story would end. I’ve seen the movie before. 

“I’m not going anywhere. Do you hear me?” She jumped on my lap, gathering my face in her hands. “Do you hear me, I’m not going anywhere.” Then she kissed me, kissed me with everything she had. I could feel it, this thrust of energy filling my body. I wrapped my arms around her, my chapped hands rough on her sweater. 

My lips found hers and devoured her. Feeding her, eating her, feeling my heart pound through my chest, kissing her deeply, sucking her tongue, my hands pulling at that dress, rolling my fingers over her delicate skin, the slope of her ass, her back. “I want you,” I told her matter of fact, grinding against her. 

Her hands pressed on my bandage. “Baby. You’ve lost too much blood… you gotta be careful.” But there she was again, kissing me like there was no tomorrow. 

God did she make me feel good, make me want to live through today. That’s when the first gunshot rang out – fuck that was intense. Earth and stone falling all around us, Eve fell silent, both of us still. Then there was the second shot. The corners of my eyes dimmed. I didn’t have the wherewithal to respond, half dead but never more alive.

“You rat, you bitch.” I heard his words all right.

BANG!

The third gunshot rang out. I blacked out, wondering how did I get here…

CHAPTER 5 – A COUPLE OF WEEKS BACK

There was a knock at my door. It was noon, I wasn’t expecting anyone. Peered through the blinds when the phone rang in the back bedroom.

I ran over to answer. “Novak speaking.” Pulled on a shirt, and patted down my hair.

“Novak – it’s me, Trixie. Listen, there’s a fella at your door. Goes by Max – he came by the front desk asking about you. I told him you worked by appointment only and asked for his number but he wasn’t big on sharing.” I could hear her drag on one of her Kitty Slims.

“Thanks, sugar.” I hung up the phone, you gotta love a good woman, and Trixie was one of the best.

I opened the door to find Max, not my usual suspect. “Good morning.” In my life, noon is early. 

“Are you Detective Peter Novak?” Max was in a huff.

“Depends who’s asking.” I snickered and opened the door to let him in, what’s the worst he could do? Shoot me? Deck me? Rubbing my jaw, wouldn’t be the first time. 

Shifting his eyes from side to side, he stepped into my office at The Oasis Motel. I liked living on the fringe. “Mr. Novak, I heard you’re an eye for hire.” Offering him a seat in the lounge, I nodded.

Walking over to my bar. “You’ve heard correctly. Coffee of Scotch?” 

“Scotch.” Max was pulling off his tie.

“I see, it’s one of those days.” I poured him two fingers, neat. I poured mine straight into my coffee. Handed him his glass.

“Mr. Novak, I need you.” I lit a smoke and waited for him to continue. You gotta prime the engine before you hit the gas. “I need you to follow someone. Confirm my suspicions.” I’ve heard that before. Easing back in my chair I took a long drag and waited him out. “It’s my wife.” Always is. “She’s been acting strange.” They always are. “And, well, you know…” I always do. 

I eyed Max, he was middle-aged, losing some hair, but not too much. I bet in his day, he took home the prize. Carried himself well. Aside from that chip on his shoulder. “I see. What has she done to raise your suspicions?” Taking a sip of my coffee. 

“Coming home at odd hours. Wearing way too much perfume. Roses. I can still smell it.” Max was rubbing his face, he wore his worry well.

“What’s her name? What does she look like? What sort of car does she drive?” I needed a shave, badly. 

Max opened his wallet and pulled out her photo. BA-BOOM! A Blonde Bombshell. Taking another look at Max, he certainly married above his pay grade. “Her name is Eve, no car, she walks or takes transit.”

Cracking my neck, “Does your wife work outside the home?” I pulled out my notebook.

“Not anymore; she used to, but I like my women at home – you know what I mean?” Wink Wink, Nudge Nudge. Max flapped his elbow.

Don’t be like Max. “Great, well that makes for an easy starting point – your address?” Handing over my notebook and watching him scribble. Something-something Baker Street. Across from the Palace of Fine Arts. Posh. “I’ll start tonight.” Finished my Scotch… “Oh, while you’re at it – let me know your schedule.” Max gave me a hard look, Max didn’t like people knowing his business. Well then, don’t hire a Dick. Peter waited till their eyes met, he meant business. “If she’s doing, what you say she’s doing, she’ll be doing it when you’re not around.” I stood up – didn’t have time for this bullshit. 

I heard him drop the notebook on the table and a stack of cash. More than I anticipated. With a shake, I bid Max goodbye. “We’ll be in touch.”

CHAPTER 6 – LATER THAT NIGHT

With a deposit like that – I started that night. Parked under the tree across the street, Max was out tonight, so I figured I’d get a good idea of how she operates. I rolled myself a cigarette, ready to chill when at 7 PM Eve walks out the door, dressed for a run. I turned the engine and followed her down Baker, fully expecting her to cut into the Presidio when she stopped to stretch at the bus stop. I pulled over to watch her. It’s a tough job, but – well – you know…

Things get a little hectic when the bus pulled in, didn’t spot her so I decided to press forward. Sure enough, I spotted her further down Baker Street, it’s getting hard to blend in, so I fell behind, catching her blonde ponytail bouncing between street lamps. Things get a little tricky on Geary but I catch up on Masonic and follow her up to Hayes; all the way to Saint Mary’s Hospital. I slow down and turn into the parking lot, keeping my eyes on the road she pays me no mind as Eve runs up the stairs, pulls out a badge, and walks into the employee entrance. 

This I wasn’t expecting.

Checking my watch. A little late for visiting hours, I settle in, from time to time taking a little stretch of the legs myself. Surveillance is murder on my sciatica. 

The clock strikes one, the mice run down, I watch my mark hop in a yellow cab and I follow her all the way home. Odd hours, I’ll say.

This went on for a few weeks; no set schedule from what I could tell. She’d just go for a run then spend some quality night at Saint Mary’s. I’ll say though – all that running sure was paying off.

On a Tuesday, when I knew she wasn’t there, I found myself grinning at the candy striper working the help desk. “Hello, Miss. I was hoping you could help me. I’m looking for Eve Webb.” It was a long shot, either she was a patient, visiting someone, or an employee; one of the three. Thought I’d keep it vague and let Saint Mary figure it out.

Candy typed into her computer and blinked at the screen. “Dr. Eve Webb, Pediatric Surgeon.” Chewing on her gum. “Is that whom you’re looking for?” Spinning her monitor around to show me her ID photo.” Good God, she was a vision. No doctor I knew looked like that. Candy popped her gum as I nodded a yes. “I can give you her card.” Opening her drawer.

“Thanks.” Back in my office, I set the first piece of evidence down on my blotter. Her name, phone, and extension neatly printed on crisp white card stock. 

That night, tapping my pen on the desk – I chewed on this. So the wife practiced medicine on the sly. What a crime – right? Poured a drink. Thinking how Max would respond to the news. He wanted his women at home… I chuckled to myself. The clock struck six. Time to go shake things up. 

On my behest, Max left town, with nothing to report – rather – nothing I was ready to report – we agreed a business trip was in order. You know – to flush out the situation. Pulling on my black sport coat, I grabbed my keys and headed over to watch the house as planned. 

To my surprise, an hour after Max boarded his flight to New York – I watched a yellow taxi roll up and a very dolled-up Dr. Webb step in. Boy did she rev my engine. It’s been a rough couple of weeks. Watching her every move, every lunch, dinner, every jog. It was the jogs that were doing me in.

I followed that taxi as it twisted through the city, wondering what she was up to. Because so far, Eve was a saint. The taxi pulled over and I watched as Eve walk into Eden. 

I parked my Dodge in the shadows and followed her into the promised land. Eden was dark, the room electric with pheromones. A purple neon light traced the back edge of the bar. I found the corner barstool free and ordered a shot of Jameson and a Pabst, can’t go wrong with a blue ribbon. My eyes adjusted, but I didn’t see her, just a lone martini at the other end. I asked for an ashtray and lit a smoke. Through the haze, I saw her walk in. I’d never forgot that moment, how she eased one thigh across the barstool, how her dress took a ride into my daydreams. That one innocuous move pulled out every devious suggestion my mind could muster. In that one simple gesture, she owned me. I was fucked. 

I contemplated leaving right now. I knew my limits or lack thereof. Like I said, it’s been a long couple of weeks. Watching this woman, she’d become my sun, moon, and stars – for work I mean.  

Cough Cough. Sip Sip. Puff Puff. 

Trying my best not to stare, I waited for her john to show. Sipping my beer, aching to pull her lip in my teeth. Feel her hair fall across my chest. Cough Cough. Back on earth I sipped my beer and chatted it up with the bartender. 

Three beers and two shots later she was still alone.

It was growing hard to ignore her bare shoulders, how the cut of her dress framed her bare back, her blonde hair piled high on her hair, a couple of strands framing her face, her neck, that long silky neck. She was built like a goddess. Shake Shake. I was losing my cool. 

I couldn’t blame Max for wanting me to keep an eye on things. I wanted to keep an eye on things. Wondering why on earth a woman like her married a man like him. I did some digging, Max was a local attorney, with interesting clientele, not the sort of man I wanted to cross – but then again, I ain’t scared. 

I asked the fox behind the bar if they had a payphone, turns out they did – just a walk right past my mark. Snicker Snicker. I ordered another round and left her a hefty tip.

Made my way past Eve. Didn’t pay her any attention. Beautiful women liked that. I picked up the phone, tossed in a few coins, and dialed my answering machine. Yeah, I still kept one. Some things you need on tape. 

I role-played some bullshit conversation I was getting stood up. I played it cool, running my hands through my hair, telling myself I understood and no hard feelings. Hanging up the phone I took a moment to gather my disappointment, really stick to the scene. By the time I headed back to my seat – she broke the silence.

“Shame to stand up a man like you.” Her grin was sinister, the rock on her wedding finger forbidding.

“I’d say the same to you – I’ve been here three hours wondering who the lucky man was.” I bit my lip – drove the dames wild. “The name’s Harrison but my friends call me Harry.” I have no idea where that came from but I went with it.

She laughed and slapped the stool next to her. “My name’s Eve.” The fox behind the bar brought over my drinks. Nice move. 

“Pleasure to meet you, Eve.” I grinned as I sat down and just like that the conversation flowed between us. Sooner than later, we were pawing at each other, I knew better than to mix business with pleasure, but then again I didn’t get here on the straight and narrow. I willingly took her bait. Making her laugh came easy, I loved watching the crease in her forehead melt as she smiled. Drove me wild.

We swapped stories, laughed, her hands lingering on my sleeve longer than they should. Making a point, I touched her knee. Pressing her knee into my palm. Hot Hot Heat growing between us. I knew Harry better leave. 

I needed to change the subject. Finally asking her what brought her there tonight. That’s when she sobered up. Eyes darting to the floors. Confessed she was a pediatric surgeon at Saint Mary’s and today – well today was a rough day. On rough days, she gets dressed up, puts on lipstick, and has a drink or two.” I was left speechless.

The bartender hollered Last Call and I walked her outside. 

“I had a good time tonight Harry, for a moment, I forgot my troubles.” She was kicking her feet – wait – that was my move.

“So did I, Eve, I’m glad I wandered into Eden.” I laughed, she laughed. The devil on my shoulder laughed. “Can I offer you a ride home? I’m parked right around the corner.”

“Oh no – it’s ok – I called a Taxi.” She did? I was surprised as the yellow checkers rolled up. Half in, half out, I could feel she was waiting on me.

I wasn’t going to let her down. “Can I see you again Eve?”

A devious smirk on her face, “I was hoping you’d ask.” As she pulled out a napkin with her phone number written down; a lipstick kiss at the corner. I slid it into my coat pocket. Looking into her soft blue eyes I did what any hot-blooded man would do. 

One hand wrapped around her waist, the other cradled her face, as I led my lips to destiny. 

I kissed her like she ought to be kissed and often. I kissed her hard, for the first and the last time. I didn’t know what came over me but I had to taste those sweet strawberry lips, feel her breath on my face, among other things. “You’re going to be the death of me,” I whispered, her marriage be damned. 

That’s when I felt her nails rake over my skull, giving me goosebumps, as her tongue filled my mouth. Her breaths were short and bated. My hand trailed down her back, grabbing that fucking gorgeous ass. She liked that, as she moaned into my mouth. My teeth raked over her neck. Oh, the things I would do to her. I bit her, I couldn’t help it, awful habit but she liked it. Huffing and puffing she pulled me into the cab.

“Take me home Orpheus.” Was all she had to say.

Never one to pass up an opportunity. I filled my mouth with her lips, her neck, pulling her dress down, filling my mouth with so much more. Her hair fell from its pins as she thrashed under my expert touch. Moonlight and street lights danced over her bare breasts. When the car stopped I fully expected to be on Baker Street – instead, I watched the gates open to the Green Street Arms. The taxi stopped before a bank of elevators, I handed the fella a wad of cash and followed trouble into the elevator.

No sooner had the doors closed did I have her pressed against the wall. Her wrists in my hand, stretched high above her body, giving me all the access I needed as we made it up the penthouse.

Inside, the rest was a blur as she pulled off my coat and tie, placing my hat on her head. Pulling me by the belt into the living room, with only the moonlight to guide us, I tore her out of that dress, standing there with nothing but her stockings on, the darkness of the ocean stretched out before us. I made fast removal of my pants and sank my body deep inside her. Over and over and over again till the sky turned violet and she fell asleep in my arms. 

I found the joint we shared earlier and gave it a re-light, drenched in sweat, rose water, and the primal scent of sex. Her fingers were twirling in my chest hair, her blonde hair sprawled over me, as she purred. Ridden hard and put away wet. Just as she requested. 

I exhaled the night away and connected the dots. Until now, she’d shown no sign of infidelity, her side hustle her only lie. Or so he thought. Looking at her tan, taught body; one leg draped over me, crawling me like a tree. Made me hard just thinking about it. Pulling out from under her, I took a cold shower. Found my way around her kitchen and brewed a pot. Out on the balcony, I rolled a cigarette. 

What the fuck are you doing Novak? Max Webb the big-shot lawyer, deep in the mob. So why the fuck are you fucking his wife – Peter? I was talking to myself. Bad habit.

Before I could change his mind, my blond minx was standing before me. “Ready for another round?” My jaw gaped open. I wasn’t sure I had it in me. As Eve slid onto my lap and proved me wrong.

By the time I got home, well, even I had a little more swagger in my step. Taking another shower, washing all that sin away, I contemplated what I’d tell Max. He’d be at my desk in two days’ time.

 Two whole days. 48 hours of possibilities. 

I made fast time in the arms of Eve. Still doing my job of keeping my eye on her – so to speak. Later that night, our last night together, lying on her bed, she confessed.

“I’m married, Harry.” Said it out into the darkness.

“I know.” Miscalculated my response. I gave her the side-eye but she didn’t seem to budge. “I figured a woman like you couldn’t be free in the wild.” I rolled over to look her in the eyes. Breaking up was hard to do.

“I don’t want to be Harry, but it’s not like I can run.” She was chewing on her thumb. “He’s got connections. Deep ones.” Rolling over to watch me. “I’ve paid my debt but he doesn’t care.” Catching my stare. “I’m so sorry Harry, I should have told you.”

Crawling up to kiss her. “I don’t care, baby, I’d do it all over again.” My lips sucked her problems away.

“I’ve got to go home today.” Still chewing on that thumb as I pulled the covers down, wrapping her legs around me, feeling her hot, wet body on mine.

Pushing my luck, we made love again and again till it was truly time to go.

“Will I see you again Harry?” She asked, kissing me goodbye at the door. 

“Abso-fucking-lutely.” Meant every word, as I slapped her on the ass and took the stairs.

CHAPTER 7 – HOMECOMING

High noon, his knock was just as firm as I expected. Showered and fresh I greeted Mr. Webb, the scent of his wife still locked in my nose.

“Well, whatcha got for me?” Webb sat down and waited for his Scotch; watching my every move. I poured two, heavy, and met his stare.

“Why me Webb?” I was feeling cocky. Sex will do that to a man. “I know who you are. Whom you have at your disposal. Why hire me?” Ballsy I know.

Max looked at me surprised. “I didn’t want any of my men to fuck her.”

“‘Nough said; to my office.” I led him into the more formal setting, sipped my drink, and jumped right into the details. Pulling out my photos, I laid out my case before him. Jogs. Lunch with friends. Dinner with Max. Jogs. Oh, so many jogs. “Every time I’ve followed her she’s gone to the library at Saint Mary’s. Spends her nights reading. Is she studying for something?” 

Max didn’t answer.

“Sometimes her route varies but no stops till the steps of Saint Mary’s – every time.” I watched him over my rim, he was taking a look at the photos. I’d removed the employee entrance and switched it for the library, you could hardly notice the chop job in black and white. Webb set the photos down. 

“That all?” Webb asked, cracking his knuckles. For a moment I considered he didn’t just hire me, maybe he had a few eyes on the case, either way, I was ready for it. Shoot me. Beat me. Whatever. Eve was worth it. 

“Yup, that’s all.” I waited for the punch, curious if his thugs would burst through the door and do it for him. Sipping my coffee I waited to find out. 

“How much do I owe you?” Webb stood up and pulled out a wad of cash.

“All done? Or did you want me to continue?” I was hoping for the latter.

 “We’re done here, let me settle the tab.” Impatient. 

How much does one charge the man for the crimes one commits? I wanted to say – forget about it – but that seemed strange. I wrote down a modest figure. Time, gas, contraception. He left me double. First time I ever felt bad.

Thing was – can’t stop, won’t stop. She was my destiny. 

CHAPTER 8 – IT’S ME OR YOU

Laying outside the cave, covered in gravel it was all coming back to me now. Each moment, each decision, each kiss that led me to this – my life staring back at me down the barrel of a handgun. So this is how it ends? Over a dame name Eve, guess that’s how it started too. Eve always gets a bad rap. 

“You rat, you bitch.” That was Max all right.

In one swift motion, Eve pulled my Glock from my holster and rose to her feet; setting some distance between us. 

I pulled out a cigarette for my last smoke. “Funny meeting you here Webb.” I couldn’t help myself as I lit my match. 

“You filthy, dirty rat.” Max alternating his shot between Eve and I. Pissed would be an understatement. Turning his sites on his wife. “So this is what you’ve been up to Eve? Fucking the P.I?” 

In shock, Eve turned to look at me. All I could do was shrug, oh the twisted webs we weave. “You had me followed?” Fuming now. “What did you care what I did when you were gone? You’re with Loretta anyhow. I didn’t go to medical school to be a housewife Max. If you were home you’d know I was working at Saint Mary’s.”

“Get in the car Eve.” Max was serious. 

The look in her eyes changed. “You’re a lousy crook Webb, a dirty lawyer, and a no good son-of-a-bitch. I paid my debt, that was the deal, right? I did your bidding, patched up your thugs without a second thought… I’m done. I’ve paid you in full.” 

“Get in the car Eve.” His knuckles turning white. 

“I’m not going anywhere with you.” With that, she fired my gun. 

BANG!

I watched it unfold in slow motion. Framed by a violet sky as the sun slowly crawled over the city. Two silhouettes stood before me. Then there was one. 

Max hit the ground like a ton of bricks. My angel stood up and walked into the cave. One more shot confirmed she was a widow. A rich one at that. No one would think twice about finding Max Webb shot and left for dead. No one. That’s a sad truth. 

My eyesight was getting foggy again. My breath labored. I lost a lot of blood if I factored my night correctly. I’m not sure what happened next. My mind played tricks on me as my sight drifted in and out. I watched those beautiful stems run over to me. Those red high heels, covered in sand, her lip trembling before my eyes. I could barely hear her, but I know she was screaming. 

“Harry! Harry!”

I wanted to kiss her, one last time, taste her sweet strawberry lips but it all faded to black.

CHAPTER 9 – IT’S NOT THAT EASY

I opened my eyes, rubbing my forehead, my nostrils filled with the scent of cigarettes, bacon, and roses. A small table lamp cast a yellow glow over the tin walls of an airstream. 

I was alive. 

Shake my head. I pieced the last 24 hours together. Drinks at the Raven with Eve. The brute picking a fight, all to get me into the alley. Max, ready to send me to my maker, ready to send Eve back home. My hand dashed over my chest, finding it bandaged. I closed my eyes and remembered Max taking one more shot, my hand finding the bandage on my arm – sure enough Max got a word or two in. 

I lifted my head, counted my blessings as my eyes focused on the figure standing before me.

“Well hello there, welcome back.” I knew her voice instantly. Those blue eyes. Her blonde hair tucked up in knots. 

“Eve?” Those strawberry lips had me in a trance. 

“Hey baby – how you feeling?” Resting her hand on my forehead. What a view. 

I pulled her in, “Good. All things considered.” She shot up when Trixie walked in. 

“There you are champ. Sorry, my accommodations aren’t well – what you’re used to.” She set down a tray and handed Eve a drink. “Can I fix you something sugar?”

“Yeah, sure.” I scratched my head. “How did I get here?” The last thing I remembered were those red high eyes covered in sand, one man dead, one more on his way to meet Gabriel… me. 

Trixie was quick to interject; kneeling down to look me in the eye. “Harry.” Looking over her shoulder and whispering. “She’s one hell of a doctor. A keeper.” Gave me a wink. “You could do a lot worse. She could do a lot better.” 

Standing up I could feel my heart pulse through my wounds. Both of them. Took a look in the mirror; little roughed up, fresh bandages; I still needed a shave.

“I’m so sorry Harry. This is all my fault.” Eve was crying in my arms now. Not exactly what I had in mind.

“Now, now sugar. Make your bed, lie in it; dig your grave, die in it.” Kissing her on the forehead, I could feel her soft hands tracing my bandage. 

“Oh, Harry, it was my only choice.” It always is.

“Damed if you do, dead if you don’t sugar.” I scooped her face into my hands. “It’s all over now.” Her lips tasted as divine as they looked, sweet as candy. 

“You need to rest now.” Trixie broke it up.

Eve pulled a bottle of painkillers from her pocket. “Here, take these.” Handing him a cold glass of water. 

I smiled, as the drugs slowly oozed through my body. “I love you,” I uttered, and for the first time in a long time, I meant it. 

She kissed me back – like she meant it too.  “Get some rest Novak, I’m not through with you yet.” Her teeth gently pulled my lip as she pulled back. My hands rolling over her hips, those legs, good god those legs. 

As I fell into a gentle sleep, I watched the good doctor walk out the door. Those red high heels Pat-Pat-Patting all the way out.

THE END 

Don’t you love it when a plan comes together – Eve did.

To read the original tale that sparked this version – read TO LIVE OR DIE IN SF.

Thank you so much for reading.  I would love to know your thoughts, favorite quotes, or surprises you enjoyed – please share!

Happy Tales! xox Pulp Paige

My name is Paige Turner and I write Pulp

LINK TO ALL PULP BY PAIGE TURNER | LINK TO PREMIUM CONTENT SUBSCRIPTION – PULP AFTER DARK | BEHIND THE SCENES

Follow Paige Turner @  | PULP BY PAIGE TURNER IG | PULP BY PAIGE IG  | PULP AFTER DARK SUBSCRIPTION | PULP SPOTIFY | PULP YOUTUBE | STORYTIME | PINTEREST | TUMBLER  |  FACEBOOK | FAN PAGE | EMAILSUBSCRIPTION TECH SUPPORT

Copyright 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023

Processed with MOLDIV

ALL MATERIAL IS WRITTEN BY PAIGE TURNER (PEN NAME) AND PROTECTED UNDER COPYRIGHT – PLEASE DO NOT REPOST/RECREATE WITHOUT EXPRESSED WRITTEN CONSENT OF PAIGE TURNER PRODUCTIONS.  YOU’VE BEEN WARNED.  ALL CHARACTERS ARE FICTIONAL ANY RESEMBLANCE TO A REAL PERSON IS ACCIDENTAL   

Copyright 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023

Published by Paige Turner

I'm a fast talking, no bologna taking kind of gal. In the world between the pages, nothing can stop me.

2 thoughts on “DAMED IF YOU DO, DEAD IF YOU DON’T – Redux

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.